MINUTES 2005-2006 ANNUAL MEETING UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

July 7, 2005

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual session on Thursday, July 7, 2005, in Carter Hall in the University Center. Present were Chair J. David Huber and Trustees Bruce H. Baker, Mark A. Day, G. Patrick Hoehn, Frank F. McDonald II '73, Harolyn G. Torain '71, and Samuel J. Tucker '05. Also in attendance were President H. Ray Hoops; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Linda L. M. Bennett; Vice President for Governmental Relations Cynthia S. Brinker; Vice President for Student Affairs Robert W. Parrent; Vice President for Business Affairs and Treasurer Mark Rozewski; Vice President for Advancement Sherrianne M. Standley; Faculty Senate Chair Mark Krahling; and Student Government Association President Scott Carr.

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m.

Vice President Standley called the roll and determined that a quorum was present. She read the notice of the annual meeting. On a motion by Mr. Tucker, seconded by Mr. Baker, the 2004-2005 annual meeting minutes were approved and reading of the minutes was waived.

In the absence of Nominating Committee Chair James Will Sr., Mr. McDonald reported that the nominating committee on which he served with Mr. Will and Mrs. Torain submitted the following slate of officers for the 2005-2006 year:

Chair	G. Patrick Hoehn
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Long-Range Planning Committee	Bruce H. Baker
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Finance/Audit Committee	
Secretary	Harolyn G. Torain '71

Mr. McDonald noted that the committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986. He read the statement and requested that it be entered into the minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mr. Huber called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, he declared the nominations closed. On a motion by Mr. Tucker, seconded by Mr. Hoehn, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved</u>.

Mr. Huber congratulated the new officers and expressed his appreciation for the opportunity to serve as Chair of the Board of Trustees. He presented the gavel to the new chair, Mr. Hoehn.

Mr. Hoehn appointed Mark Rozewski as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Hoehn appointed Louise Bruce, Harolyn Torain, and the student trustee, whose appointment is pending, to serve on the Long-Range Planning Committee, with Bruce Baker as chair.

Mr. Hoehn appointed Mark Day, David Huber, and James Will, Sr. to serve on the Finance/Audit Committee,

with Frank McDonald II as chair.

¥

Ċ,

Mr. Hoehn appointed Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, and Frank McDonald II to the USI Foundation Board of Directors for 2005-2006; and David Huber, the student trustee, whose appointment is pending, and James Will Sr. to serve on the USI/New Harmony Foundation Board of Directors for 2005-2006.

There being no further business, Mr. Hoehn declared the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

tandley Sherrianne Standley

Assistant Secretary